To Dream ‘Realistically’: Oxymoron & London.

We are almost halfway through 2019 and truth be told, a lot has happened since the last time I posted. Life has its own way in keeping us busy and occupied, and in the blink of an eye, a few months have whizzed past.

My degree has been occupying the bulk of my time with occasional trips here and there (check out my Instagram page to keep tabs on which flight I’ll be on next). I was in the UK in February, specifically Manchester, Bristol, and London for an interview.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was given the opportunity to be interviewed for an internship position in Airbus’ Communication Department, however I was not selected for the internship. It was a great experience though, considering the fact that I was the only Asian representative out of the other 10 candidates where we were chosen out of a pool of almost 6,000 applicants. That achievement alone is something to be proud of because growing up in a very small, conservative town in the middle of nowhere, I have the potential to break free from the stereotypes that revolve around individuals who come from towns nobody even know they exist.

Manchester Train Station
Waiting for the train from Manchester to Bristol

It’s disheartening to hear damaging narratives from people around you who suppresses your potential by telling you to aim for something ‘more feasible and realistic’. Dreams are never realistic. To dream of something realistic is an oxymoron on its own, and I strongly believe one can dream of anything they desire.

This rings true in all facets of our lives and I support all my friends who realise their own worth and value; not dictated by society’s expectations. It has been such a blessing to have met countless individuals who share the same drive and goal in life; to be able to find contentment under every rock they turn. I am proud to call these individuals my friends, and even prouder when I see them achieving little milestones in their own pace and effort.

Covent Garden
Street performer in Covent Garden

I cannot express this enough; I am truly grateful for the experience and the people who have supported me throughout the journey, and also during the aftermath where I cried when I found out I was not selected for the position.

I was given the chance to visit the UK for the second time in the span of less than a year and if that is not my stars lining up in my favour, then I don’t know what is. I guess it’s more than just the way the stars are arranged, it’s the people who tirelessly love you, the effort you put into your dreams, and the support from the community around you.

Covent Garden Restaurant
Restaurant above Covent Garden.

It may just be pure luck; and if it is – then boy, am I the luckiest person in the world! I will keep this blog up and running to document my future endeavours, so if you want to be notified about my future posts – subscribe!

Til then, continue to dream.

Stay hydrated and blessed!
Peter.

All photos shot on iPhone X.

 

 

4 thoughts on “To Dream ‘Realistically’: Oxymoron & London.”

Leave a comment